21+ days of joy

the habit of opening a heart

It takes twenty-one days to form a habit.

I’ve been focusing on joy every day since November 5, 2015.

I know without a doubt now that joy exists and is accessible every single day.

(I’ve had some really rough days while writing this project.)

I know that with effort at first, it is possible to open my heart to joy every day, and that joy will meet me where I am.

The habit I’ve formed is making the choice to open my heart to joy, to seek joy, to create joy and to share joy.

Each time I did so, making the choice got easier. I was able to shed some ego chatter. Without the questions and the doubts, it became automatic.

In forming this habit, I proved to my ego that it is possible to find joy every day, which means she fights less even when I’m finding it difficult to open my heart.

I’m going to keep working on this project to see what I can discover about joy now that I have faith it exists no matter what.

I hope you’ll share your recent or best experiences with joy. Do you find it easily? Do you try to find it on difficult days? Do you believe it exists?

Take good care,

Jenn

Author: tendrilwise

Hi, I have a diploma in Journalism, I've published a novel, and I am currently studying psychology. My odd way of viewing the world either gets me kicked out of parties or invited to them. Jenn McKay

6 thoughts on “21+ days of joy”

  1. Hi Jenn,

    Lovely post 🙂

    Yes, it does take a few weeks to form a habit, as you mentioned, though it differs from person to person. Some people can form a habit within a few days, because they make up their mind and get things done. So, it all depends on you and how soon you wish to imbibe something. I like the project you’re working on, and what matters most is that you find joy in the little things you do, and if this is where your happiness lies, so be it!

    It’s not easy to find joy for any of us, all the time. But if you think about life and the lovely moments that cross our life, you’d find joy in each passing moment. However, you need time to sit and think likewise to make it happen, by taking out time and seeing things from that perspective. Meditation helps, and so does time away for yourself, where you can introspect and appreciate things, isn’t it?

    Thanks for sharing. Have a nice week ahead 🙂

    Like

  2. Hello Harleena,

    Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting and sharing on Twitter.

    I think it’s wonderful that you’re able to find joy in each passing moment!

    That sounds like a huge accomplishment to me!

    Thank you for sharing some tips.

    Take good care,

    Jenn

    Like

  3. Hey Jenn,

    I enjoy reading about your project. I agree it only takes 21 days to change habits. They can be the hardest days especially when starting. So bravo to you for sticking to it. Isn’t is great when we can find happiness or joy when things are stacked up against us.

    That ego of ours is certainly bad news. I am constantly watching it. Most days I am on top of it, it rules me if I don’t take charge.

    Big smile that you have faith that joy can exist no matter what. That is a very exciting acknowledgement.

    Answering your question about what joys do I have. Most mornings I wake up to coffee and writing. For breakfast I sit on a balcony across from a train station and watch everyone go to work. By the time peak hour is over I have done two or three hours of work. Most days I have a sense of joy from finally realising I am doing what I have wanted to do. Thanks for an uplifting post.

    Rachel.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Jenn

    I remember that you mentioned this project and I see that you are making progress.

    I think that the time it takes to change a habit differs for everyone. However i believe that the more focused a person is on the goal, the less time it takes to change a habit.

    For me I try to experience Joy all the time at work and at home. I ain’t there yet but I am working towards it. Thanks for sharing…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

