second chance joy

egos are weird…

recently I walked by a man who was obviously in need.

carrying a bag with a few grocery items but no cash in my pocket, I thought to my myself, shit, I wish I had something to give.

not long after I passed him, it occurred to me that I could share something from my bag of groceries.

but I felt self-conscious about going back and waking him in case what I had in my bag wasn’t what he needed.

I started with the negative self-talk, ego chatter, about a missed opportunity.

then I told my ego to shush and I asked for another opportunity.

it came.

and that time, the person asked for my help.

Author: tendrilwise

Hi, I have a diploma in Journalism, I've published a novel, and I am currently studying psychology. My odd way of viewing the world either gets me kicked out of parties or invited to them. Jenn McKay

Leave a Reply

