The Witness Isn’t Supposed To Have An Opinion

i blamed myself

I guess I wasn’t aware
of the intricacies of connection
the last time you left me

I suppose this has been a jump forward
this hard-won acceptance
but in multiple ways
the rewards crept up on me

In the aftermath of a beauty-queen pageant beehive
stepping into ill-winded green skies
with no idea that a brush cannot fix uprooted strays
there is gratitude for this pain
and wonder at the anomalies

The girl I was when we met exists
over there somewhere
accessible through the exact pitch I hate to revisit
unless my now is so filled with the emptiness of not you
that I’d rather be where you could have
instead of here, where you did not

Author: tendrilwise

Hi, I have a diploma in Journalism, I've published a novel, and I am currently studying psychology. My odd way of viewing the world either gets me kicked out of parties or invited to them. Jenn McKay

Leave a Reply

