ten minutes

there were no Christmas lights

There were no christmas lights twined above in the trellis
but in my mind your face was luminescent
It wasn’t even night time when we danced on the deck
but I remember the moon
and I can still smell the fresh brine waves
I was in your arms for ten minutes
dizzy, lofted, radiant
you loosened memories of who I was trying to be
it stung, seeing myself so clearly
how ready those pieces were to be reclaimed
When you left, that ache took on a shape that slid down my throat
in my grief I gave your without more weight than your with
but the stars knew better
not so soon after we met, I thought I understood the why
I will be grateful for you always

Author: tendrilwise

Hi, I have a diploma in Journalism, I've published a novel, and I am currently studying psychology. My odd way of viewing the world either gets me kicked out of parties or invited to them. Jenn McKay

Leave a Reply

