must love birds

free

I want a man who knows how to work a washing machine, a man who does the dishes, but doesn’t mind a messy living room.

I want a man who likes a woman who eats fries and would never ask her to wear high heels to the hospital.

I need a man who knows what arms are for, and chooses to use them. I need a man who will hold me when I’m tired and wants me to run my hands through his hair, over his neck and tuck my arms around his waist when he’s stressed.

I want a man who loves to cook. A man who wants to blindfold me and ask me to try new flavour combinations. A man who laughs if I make a ‘yuck’ face rather than gets grumpy and sulky because I don’t like it.

I want a man who doesn’t yell at me for getting something wrong. A man who believes there’s not much I could do that he would consider wrong.

I want a man who introduces me to his friends and thinks I might be the one he has been waiting for.

A man who is patient and honest and loving and passionate.

I want a man who has a bird feeder on his balcony.

I want a man who believes in me and supports the pursuit of my dreams.

I want a man who doesn’t punish people for making mistakes. Who understands the days I can only give awkward hugs. A man who creates a safe space for me to be my fully passionate and wild sexual self. A man who doesn’t struggle with the collision of archetypes because he loves and accepts the whole me. And he is comfortable with his own archetypes.

I want a man who wants to make me laugh so hard that I snort. A man who even thinks it’s the cutest thing he’s ever heard. A man who records my laughter to play back when I’m down, rather than a man who records my snoring to play in front of my friends and family to shove my peccadilloes in my face, to humiliate me.

I want a man who holds my hand as we walk down the street.

A man who is satisfied with one woman because he doesn’t in any way see females as trophies.

Somewhere in the future, a man exactly like this is waiting for me with a rose. Somewhere in the future, I will find my way to him.

And he won’t criticize me for taking so long. And I won’t blame him for the years I spent alone.

And we will be happy.

Author: tendrilwise

Hi, I have a diploma in Journalism, I've published a novel, and I am currently studying psychology. My odd way of viewing the world either gets me kicked out of parties or invited to them. Jenn McKay

Leave a Reply

