Eventually With Ease

Hey, change the channel, I hate this pretentious positive shit
Who are you?
Oh, shit, sorry. Bob stuck his hand across the cushions. I’m Bob.
Bob? Ok. I’m –
I know.
They sat in silence, both waiting
Bob hated quiet
Hey, do you like cats?
Of course. Do you?
I sure do
The girl looked at Bob for a long time, unsure as to whether or not she could believe him
She listened for the valves in her heart to click
She waited for Bob to flinch
She watched for his pupils to dilate, wishing she was within arms length of her pocket flashlight
Bob knew what she was doing
he tried to curb his amusement because he was afraid the sight of it would be misinterpreted
But there it was
uncontainable
for a few seconds
and because the girl was watching closely, she caught it
What’s so funny?
You. Bob did not hesitate.
Well, she thought, I suppose it’s odd that I’m staring at him so hard over cat love
His head bobbled
The girl narrowed her eyes
Hey, can we watch the premier episode of Laundry: 24/7
She shrugged but changed the channel
The opening credits were mesmerizing

Author: tendrilwise

Hi, I have a diploma in Journalism, I've published a novel, and I am currently studying psychology. My odd way of viewing the world either gets me kicked out of parties or invited to them. Jenn McKay

Leave a Reply

