why eyes

bare knuckle boxing in flip flops
suit up grab your towel, beauty
headed to the beach for a first date
as the history channel plays
terrified of slipping, clipping my date
making a face at a thought that isn’t about him
need a man who can see how i do
only grounded
how the fuck do we ground falling in love
ask again
ask louder
don’t stop asking
i’ll get the mugs
you choose your tea
meet me in my dreams
so you know what’s coming
i’m transparent
i’m a real one
surrounded by forgeries
slip through the cracks
follow the light
for you, i’m a lighthouse
learning to trust that moths can’t get too close

Author: tendrilwise

Hi, I have a diploma in Journalism, I've published a novel, and I am currently studying psychology. My odd way of viewing the world either gets me kicked out of parties or invited to them. Jenn McKay

Leave a Reply

