Opacity Illusion

noir come up poetry

Here is me
standing over there
cake in the mouth
cloaked fear in the eyes
waiting
to be separated
catalogued into bins
with the other bits
stuck on
whose eye color, symmetry, smile will he desire
which sinuosities will be chosen
how many variations of a shoulder slope exist

There is she
sitting on a wooden chair
propped by product
non-dissuaded emulation from five
marketing lessons at twelve
how to turn them toward you
bite your lip
fight back
run ahead
tilt your head down, look up
say little
unless they like that, then speak with sass
let them watch you
And then branding courses
as soon as notice of tucked legs shape the need

clashing thoughts and dreams
marching band chic

Author: tendrilwise

Hi, I have a diploma in Journalism, I've published a novel, and I am currently working on another one. I’m a childhood sexual abuse survivor. I write fiction and poetry focused on themes of CPTSD, trauma, grief, healing and the light that comes after the darkness. I love Jesus. Jenn McKay

Leave a comment